About the MAIB Board of Directors

Board of Directors

MAIB Board of Directors

Current Directors of the MAIB


Chairman (Independent)

Appointed:           7 December 2010
Member:               Audit Committee
                               Foundation Committee

Don Challen is an economist specialising in public finance. He is a Director and Deputy Chair of Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra Holdings Ltd and a Senior Adviser with Flagstaff Partners.

Don’s former roles include Chairman of the Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation, Director of TasNetworks Pty Ltd, President and Trustee Director of the Retirement Benefits Fund, Chairman of Transend Networks Pty Ltd, Director of Hydro Tasmania, Chairman of the Tasmanian Gaming Commission, Director of Trust Bank, Member of the Australian Government Financial Reporting Council NS and Secretary of the Department of Treasury and Finance in Tasmania

Don is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, a Fellow of CPA Australia and a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia.

KATE CUTHBERTSON  LLB (Hons), BA, Grad Cert in Legal Practice

Director (Independent)

Appointed:           27 November 2015
Member:               Claims Committee
                                Foundation Committee

Kate is a lawyer with over 20 years’ experience practising in the areas of Criminal Law and General Litigation. She commenced practice as a Barrister at Malthouse Chambers in Hobart in February 2010 and was appointed Head of Chambers in August 2014. In addition to her work as a Barrister, Kate is a member of the Anti-Discrimination Tribunal, the Parole Board of Tasmania, the Sentencing Advisory Council, and the Council of Obstetric and Paediatric Mortality and Morbidity and is Deputy Chairperson of the Tasmanian Racing Appeals Board.

Kate is also a Criminal Injuries Compensation Commissioner and a board member of Mosaic Support Services. Kate is a graduate of the AICD’s Company Directors course.


Director (Independent)

Appointed:           1 May 2013
Chairperson:       Audit Committee

Michael Dontschuk has over 30 years’ experience in investment, finance, treasury and financial risk management. Michael is a Director of Australia Ratings, Bonney Custodia, Grange Resources, The Public Trustee, Principal of Dontschuk and Associates and Chairman Eticore.

He was previously Group Treasurer with Grange Resources Limited and the ANZ Bank, Managing Director and CEO of Treasury Corporation Victoria, President and Director of the Finance and Treasury Association of Australia and worked in corporate debt advisory and investment banking.


Director (Independent)

Appointed:         1 January 2019
Member:            Audit Committee
                             Claims Committee

Naomi Walsh is a finance professional with over 25 years’ experience in chartered accounting and commercial roles. Prior to joining the University of Tasmania in July 2018 she held finance and general management roles in the civil construction, tourism and hospitality sectors. Her qualifications include Fellow Chartered Accountant, Master of Business, graduate Australian Institute of Company Directors and graduate of the Tasmanian Leaders Program.

Naomi has board roles including Commissioner of the Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania, member of Tasmanian Building and Construction Industry Training Board, member of Tasmanian Traineeships and Apprenticeships Committee and director of Design Tasmania. Naomi was 2015 Telstra Tasmania Business Woman, Private and Corporate.


Director (Independent)

Appointed:         1 February 2020
Member:             Claims Committee

John has over 30 years’ experience in the debt capital markets arranging finance for businesses, managing investment portfolios, and managing the risks associated with borrowing and investing activities. John was appointed a director and Chief Executive Officer of TASCORP in May 2002 until May 2014 and is the Chair of the Pauanui Business Association Inc.

John has a masters degree in business administration, has been a part-time lecturer in corporate finance at the University of Auckland and was previously a director of the New Zealand Venture Investment Fund. He is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.